Incredibly Tasty Kale

July 30, 2010 at 10:37 am 11 comments

Great short film on incredible Kale, an amazingly

tasty leaf vegetable related to the brassica family.  Kale

is full of vitamins, and tastes fantastic in winter dishes, and

as seen in the video, tastes great raw, especially the

stalk, so don’t throw it in the compost!

Ivy Manning, “Farm to Table Cookbook” author, goes into the field

for Cooking Up a Story and talks to

Shari Sirkin of Dancing Roots Farm who gives

lots of valuable clues on the benefits and uses of

this versatile leafy vegetable.  Another

great story from Rebecca Gerendasy, Executive Producer

 of the brilliant  Cooking Up A Story, Portland, Oregon.

 

Leafy Kale

(copyright Monika Roleff 2010.)

(copyright video  Cooking Up a Story, 2010.  Used with permission.)

Entry filed under: Sustainability. Tags: , , , , .

Backyard Activity – Chicken Coop Tours! Kale Recipe – Twice Baked Irish Potatoes

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lori  |  July 30, 2010 at 12:35 pm

    I love greens of any sort! I’ve been eating my own home grown young beet greens cooked with their beets in salt water. I also like spinach sauteed in olive oil and garlic. And my personal favorite from down south: chopped collard greens cooked with onion and bacon. Oh yum oh!

    Thanks for showing this. I didn’t realize kale grew on stalks. I learned something new today.

    L.

    Reply
    • 2. imogen88  |  July 30, 2010 at 1:08 pm

      Gosh, Lori, the beet greens sound good. I love anything like that. Same with the spinach. Anything bacon, I agree, woo hoo, Kale is wonderful in a bacon and garlic and onion white sauce, over rice or whatever. MMMMMM!

      I just loved this story, and I am so glad you did too! Learned a lot too! 🙂

      Reply
  • 3. Heather Blakey  |  July 30, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    Those greens are delicious Monika. You can feel them doing you good as they go down. I have done spinach with bacon and avocado. I must try it with onion and bacon. Sounds dellcious.

    Reply
  • 4. Heather Blakey  |  July 30, 2010 at 1:10 pm

    And delicious as well 🙂

    Reply
    • 5. imogen88  |  July 30, 2010 at 1:16 pm

      Heather, the avocado addition to the spinach and bacon sounds heavenly! I totally agree with you about feeling them doing you good, and I love the way they describe the cold weather bringing sweetness to the brassicas, their anti freeze! Apparently the brassicas burn toxins out of the system, which is why they are so good for you. Having the juice is pretty awesome if you can handle it. Love this good food talk, Heather and Lori!

      Reply
  • 6. woodnymph  |  July 30, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Hey guys, you have me drooling into my keyboard. I like greens of any kind. I like the idea of spinach with bacon and avocado. You’re fortunate, Lori, in being able to grow some of your own. There’s nothing better than home grown. I need to locate a good farmer’s market where I can get something fresher than the super market offers.

    Vi

    Reply
    • 7. imogen88  |  July 31, 2010 at 2:29 am

      LOL, Vi, I am not surprised! It’s a bit like that, isn’t it? Love to hear how you go finding a farmer’s market. I love this idea, and people can grow their own things anywhere, even on a patio in a pot. I have done tomatoes this way and herbs.

      Reply
  • 8. Lori  |  July 31, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    Unfortunately, how weather has not been conducive to growing much. It is nearly August and we are still having Spring weather which is low clouds and moist air. My beans and zucchini are not germinating and my tomatoes and cukes are getting moldy leaves (from the damp cool air).

    Reply
    • 9. imogen88  |  August 1, 2010 at 2:46 am

      Apparently, Lori, the weather patterns are changing to moist. Hang in there, some basic shade cloth may help to moderate the conditions where the plants are, so they can get the most protection as the changes occur. Just simple stakes with the cloth fixed to the top, and this way you can remove it and put if over them, as required.

      Reply
  • 10. Traveller  |  August 2, 2010 at 9:33 pm

    I love all these green things too: kale, broccoli, spring greens, etc. I wish I was somewhere long enough to be able to grow all these things.

    Reply
    • 11. imogen88  |  August 3, 2010 at 1:05 am

      That’s great, Carol. I think it’s safe to say we all love these greens!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Copyscape

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Henry David Thoreau – Philosopher

"Heaven is under our feet, as well as over our heads."
July 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 5,590 hits

Feeds


