Earth Hour Results

March 30, 2008 at 4:36 am 10 comments

Marguerite Daisy August 2006

Just a quick link posted below, to show the results of

last night’s global Earth Hour activity.

It was certainly interesting to try and

read by candlelight, really took some

adjustments, but the beauty and the glow

of the different atmosphere temporarily

brought reality back to an older, bygone era.

ABC Online – Earth Hour Results

CandleCandleCandle

(copyright Monika Roleff 2008.)

Entry filed under: Sustainability. Tags: , , , .

City Walls of Nature Vertical Garden Store and Green Roofs

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Fran  |  March 30, 2008 at 6:59 am

    candle-lit evening: the light casts new shadows yet your eyes shine. Fran

    Reply
  • 2. imogen88  |  March 30, 2008 at 7:00 am

    That’s a nice bit of poetry, Fran!

    Reply
  • 3. espirit07  |  March 30, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Lovely! I love how candlelight creates an ambience of softness. And, Earth Hour is a great program.

    Reply
  • 4. woodnymph  |  March 30, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    It gets the muse to doing her thing. I vote we have an earth hour once every month. I felt myself slowing down to an earlier, less frenzied pace.

    Vi

    Reply
  • 5. jodhiay  |  March 30, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    It was nice to look around my neighborhood and see more houses in the dark than I thought would be!

    I like Vi’s idea of having an earth hour every month: I’d even be up for once a week.

    Reply
  • 6. porchsitter  |  March 30, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Had my dinner by the dim light of the TV, was that cheating? I’m trying to train myself into the “less is more” principle, ie. if I have the computer or TV on–skip the radio–put the kitchen light out.

    From the 11th floor I see supermarket, Target, etc. with so many lights on all night. I wonder if they’re all necessary.
    Hall lights in my building are on round the clock. Seems such a waste, in my house, bed time meant everything off. Lots of neighbors had sensor lights, though. High crime area’s one thing, otherwise, forget them. I couldn’t stand them.

    Reply
  • 7. imogen88  |  March 31, 2008 at 3:51 am

    I agree, Vi, Genece, Joanne, and Barbara. The softer light does allow for a different reality. We still need lights for security as a community, I don’t think those lights could ever go. I mean, why fix one problem and find a host of others caused? I think moderation is the key. I also agree with you, Vi and Joanne about doing a regular earth hour time slot. Could be fun.

    Reply
  • 8. Almost In the Dark  |  April 1, 2008 at 1:34 pm

    porchsitter:

    I “cheated” too. I was surprised I only heard of Earth Hour around 6PM on the news. I also used my TV as I had NO IDEA what to do. (Scared to death to use candles.)

    Oddly enough, the first thing that popped into my head to do was read. Duh. The second…ride around in the car for an hour. What IS my problem.

    Anyway, watched TV with everything else off.

    Reply
  • 9. shewolfy728  |  April 1, 2008 at 2:31 pm

    I didn’t know about it until it was a bit late – we had our usual houseful of people over for Saturday night chili and games, and I didn’t have any oil for the lamp, so we just played on. Had I been prepared, we’d have been fine, because our games require only papar, pencil, and odd shaped dice…And I really didn’t want candles with all the paper on the table!

    Reply
  • 10. imogen88  |  April 2, 2008 at 4:07 am

    You can do it anytime it suits, Jane. Sounds like you had a good evening, anyway!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Copyscape

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Henry David Thoreau – Philosopher

"Heaven is under our feet, as well as over our heads."
March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 5,589 hits

Feeds


