Real Food Logic – Part One

February 27, 2008 at 2:15 pm 8 comments

Continuing a series on food by Rebecca Gerendasy,

director of CookingUpAStory films, consider the views

discussed in Part One of a dialogue and talk by

Michael Pollan about his latest book on real food and the logic of

it, as opposed to some modern substitutes. 

“In Defense of Food” is valuable reading for anyone

interested in keeping vital foods “whole”.   It’s linked

in the sidebar, on Amazon.  This is a fascinating discussion,

as good nutrition concerns everyone, offering

some real food logic.

(copyright Monika Roleff 2008.)

(copyright cooking up a story, 2008.)

Entry filed under: Sustainability. Tags: , , , , .

Green Eggs Earth Hour – March 29th 2008

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lorigloyd  |  February 27, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    This looks like a fascinating book.

    Reply
  • 2. imogen88  |  February 28, 2008 at 5:46 am

    Agree, Lori, I think there would be a lot of interesting ideas in it to ponder.

    Reply
  • 3. jodhiay  |  February 28, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    And I just ate a slice of “imitation” cheese on my egg sandwich this morning!

    Pollan’s also got a book on gardening that I’m dying to get my hands on. My local library doesn’t have it so it looks like I’m off to a bookstore at some point…

    Reply
  • 4. imogen88  |  February 29, 2008 at 1:50 am

    Eek, Joanne!

    Sounds interesting, the gardening book, too. Have fun at the bookstore, always a good thing to do! Keen to hear what you think of it!

    Reply
  • 5. porchsitter  |  February 29, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    You’re doing a real service with these food interviews, thanks. I hold to the old slogan, “Read the label; if you can’t pronounce it, don’t eat it.” Tried the low fat sour cream once and it was awful–never again! It melted into a watery something on my baked potato–yuck.

    It’s tough making the decisions, though–I try to lower cholesterol by just easing up on the cheeses, whole milk, etc. I use margarine for bread and butter for baking. Did you ever buy baked goods with low fat and sugar substitute? How can anyone stand them? I love to cook from scratch, so that helps.

    Reply
  • 6. imogen88  |  March 1, 2008 at 3:42 am

    A good benchmark to go by, Barbara. I think cooking from scratch, if you have time to do it, is marvellous!

    Reply
  • 7. lorigloyd  |  March 1, 2008 at 4:28 am

    For a number of years, I drank non-fat milk and used margarine because my doctor told me to reduce my cholesterol. After reading about how bad margarine is for a person, and admitting to myself that I hated non-fat milk, I switched to olive oil and low-fat (1%) milk. My cholesterol dropped 30 points. And I do use a small bit of butter and real cheese. One does need to watch portion control on these items though.

    Reply
  • 8. imogen88  |  March 1, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Sounds like you’ve got it sorted, Lori. I think everyone is different and can make changes which will be good for them personally. I tend to like olive oil as well, what you say is quite fascinating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Copyscape

Page copy protected against web site content infringement by Copyscape

Henry David Thoreau – Philosopher

"Heaven is under our feet, as well as over our heads."
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

Categories

Blog Stats

  • 5,593 hits

Feeds


